Back to top

CCI Doctoral Students & Alumni

You are here

Meet our doctoral students below and learn more about them by viewing our Graduate Student Spotlights. You will notice that our doctoral students are very productive, and they join us from all over the world as you can see by the map showing hometowns.

We have a strong alumni base and the graduates from our PhD program have taken positions all over the world, including Fulbright Scholar Fellowships. Our graduates have positions in universities and other organizations. You may view the list our PhD graduates' dissertation titles to learn more about their work. View our PhD Alumni Spotlights to learn more about our alumni.

Meet Our Current PhD Students

Picture Name Position E-mail
Khaled Alkandari PhD Student School of Advertising & Public Relations kalkanda@vols.utk.edu
Rebecca Anderson PhD Candidate School of Information Sciences rander32@utk.edu
Robert Anderson PhD Student
Graduate Research Assistant
School of Information Sciences rander39@utk.edu
Andrew Anglin PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Advertising & Public Relations aanglin1@vols.utk.edu
Umana Anjalin PhD Student School of Advertising & Public Relations uanjalin@vols.utk.edu
Frank Aviles La SCALA PhD Candidate
Graduate Research Associate
School of Information Sciences faviles@utk.edu
John Baker PhD Student School of Journalism & Electronic Media jbaker66@vols.utk.edu
Regina Beach-Bertin PhD Student School of Information Sciences rbeach1@vols.utk.edu
Brandon Boatwright PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Advertising & Public Relations bboatwr1@vols.utk.edu
Betsy Byrne PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Advertising & Public Relations bbyrne1@vols.utk.edu
Lisa Christian PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Information Sciences lchrist2@utk.edu
Dawn Corwin PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Journalism & Electronic Media dcorwin1@vols.utk.edu
John Dugger PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Advertising & Public Relations jdugger7@vols.utk.edu
Monique Freemon PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Journalism & Electronic Media
LaVerne Gray PhD Candidate
Graduate Research Assistant, Educational Advancement Program
School of Information Sciences lgray7@vols.utk.edu
Melissa Greene-Blye PhD Student
Lecturer
School of Journalism & Electronic Media mgreeneb@vols.utk.edu
Jamie Greig PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
Senate Chair & CCI PHD Representative, UTK Graduate Student Senate
School of Journalism & Electronic Media jgreig@utk.edu
Li-Min Huang PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Information Sciences lhuang23@vols.utk.edu
Monica Ihli Research Associate III
PhD Student
School of Information Sciences mihli1@utk.edu
Monica Ihli Research Associate III
PhD Student
Center for Information & Communication Studies mihli1@utk.edu
Charli Kerns PhD Student School of Journalism & Electronic Media ckerns@vols.utk.edu
Minsoo Kim PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Advertising & Public Relations mkim41@vols.utk.edu
Pui-yi Judy Li PhD Candidate School of Information Sciences pli9@utk.edu
Joseph Lybarger PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Communication Studies jlybarge@vols.utk.edu
Kevin J. Mallary PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Information Sciences kmallary@utk.edu
Jim Malone PhD Candidate School of Information Sciences jmalone4@utk.edu
Abhijit Mazumdar PhD Candidate
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Journalism & Electronic Media amazumda@vols.utk.edu
Brandy Mmbaga PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Communication Studies bmmbaga@vols.utk.edu
Nicole Nanney PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Information Sciences NicoleNanney@utk.edu
Jamie Osborn PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Communication Studies josbor23@vols.utk.edu
Michelle Parker PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Information Sciences mparke48@vols.utk.edu
Danielle Pollock PhD Candidate
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Information Sciences dpolloc2@vols.utk.edu
Ivonne Ramirez La SCALA PhD Candidate
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Information Sciences iramirez@utk.edu
Cassandra Ray PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Communication Studies cmellon2@vols.utk.edu
David Sims PhD Student School of Information Sciences dsims7@utk.edu
Priyanki Sinha PhD Candidate
Graduate Teaching Assistant
School of Information Sciences psinha2@utk.edu
Jason Smethers PhD Student School of Communication Studies jsmether@utk.edu
Jason Stamm PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Journalism & Electronic Media jstamm1@vols.utk.edu
Iman Tahamtan Ph.D. Student, Graduate Teaching Associate School of Information Sciences tahamtan@vols.utk.edu
Jenilee Williams PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Communication Studies jwill366@vols.utk.edu
Ying Xiong PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Advertising & Public Relations yxiong7@vols.utk.edu
Xu Zhang PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Assistant
School of Journalism & Electronic Media xzhan104@vols.utk.edu